Sign In Forgot Password

Lifelong Learning for Adults

 

See our accomplishments in Lifelong Learning for 2021-2022

We believe that learning is a central part of life for both adults and children. Our adult learning community is an integral part of many members' lives in their lifelong pursuit of Jewish literacy and personal growth.

Our programs are driven by the diverse interests of our members.  We provide learning opportunities that are accessible to learners at all levels of understanding. See detailed listings of our current Lifelong Learning offerings below.

Temple Beth Shalom members, want to be added to the Lifelong Learning email list? Log in to your account and add lifelong learning to your subscriptions.

Non-members, complete our Membership Inquiry Form for information about membership and congregational life.

Have ideas for a class you'd like to lead? Submit our proposal form!


Updated Jan. 23, 2023

Ongoing Education Opportunities

Torah Study

Saturdays at 9:00 a.m.

Whether you have the Torah memorized, or you haven't read the Torah for years, or you've never read it, this group is open to those interested in delving into the text. Learn what the Torah says and how it is relevant in our daily lives. The group is guided through an insightful and lively discussion led by one of our rabbis, educators, or lay leaders. It is helpful but not at all necessary to have your own Torah. Contact us to receive more information about taking part in Torah Study. Free for members and non-members.

 

Recipes & Reminiscing: Eastern European and Middle Eastern Recipes with the Freedmans

Sunday, Feb. 5, 4:00 p.m.

For Temple Beth Shalom members only. Register here.

Join Rabbi and Lori Freedman as they share some of their favorite Eastern European and Middle Eastern recipes! They will first demonstrate how to make a traditional chopped egg and onion dish (great for Passover!) and then everyone will help make potato cheese bourekas, a traditional Israeli pastry. Tasting encouraged!

Want to view the recipes compiled from other meetings of Recipes & Reminiscing? Check them out here!

One-Time or Short-Term Education Offerings

Origins of the Israelites: Bible vs. Archaeology

March 22 & 29, 7:00 p.m., Temple Beth Shalom

Led by congregant Michael Gostein

Registration coming soon

Who were the Israelites? When exactly did they appear in history, and where? Why and how did they become a group of people with a common identity? How did they come to possess the Land of Israel?

Torah and Tanakh answer these questions, telling us that our ancestors had roots in Mesopotamia (~1800 BCE), sojourned in Canaan, were enslaved in Egypt, were freed by God (via Moses), and around 1200 BCE conquered the Land of Israel in a military campaign.

But, did it actually happen this way?

In Part 1 of this class (3/22/2023, 7:00-8:30pm) we will explore the Biblical narrative on these topics, including delving into uncomfortable questions about warfare and genocide as depicted in the Biblical account.

In Part 2 of this class (3/29/2023, 7:00-8:30pm) we will explore theories from modern archaeology, which offers a completely different perspective that is sure to make you rethink our origin story. Just in time for Passover!

We strongly prefer that participants attend both Part 1 and Part 2 if possible, but it is ok if you can only make one part or the other.

 

Reading Rabbis With Rabbi Steinman
Tuesdays at noon from Sept. 13-May 9

Register here

Join Rabbi Steinman once per month to learn a text from rabbinic literature that will help to inform the ways we make decisions today. Learn more.

 

Trope Club (Learn to Chant Torah!)

Jan. 22-April 30, 1:35-2:15 p.m.

Register here

You are invited to join Trope Club with Cantor Gostein, a class in which you will learn the basics for chanting from the Torah. Trope Club is open to students with their B-Mitzvah between May 1-Sept. 30, 2023, and any adult interested in learning the art of Torah cantillation. The fall semester begins on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2023. (Please note that there must be a minimum of 5 students enrolled for this class to be held.)

Prerequisite: Ability to decode Hebrew letters and vowels. It is ok if you are not super-speedy at pronouncing multisyllabic words but knowing an “ah” from an “ee” and a “b” from a “sh” is needed. Recognizing basic words like “Shalom” and “Yisrael” is helpful as well.

Please register for the class by January 10, 2023. There is a $54.00 fee for the class, which covers the text book we will use, The Art of Cantillation. This book includes a CD and audio web link to use as reinforcement of in-class lessons. The book will be ordered for you, as it is much less expensive in bulk from Behrman House (the publisher). An email will be sent out following each class with follow-up assignments to complete between class sessions. Our location will be determined by the Religious School. If school is in-person, this class will meet in-person. If school is via Zoom, the class will meet via Zoom.

 

Congregational Trip to Israel

May 30-June 7, 2023

Travel to Israel with your temple friends! Rabbi Ellie Steinman and Kelly Finkel will lead the trip, which is appropriate for all ages, from May 30-June 7, 2023. The tour will encompass Jerusalem, the Dead Sea, Galilee, and Tel Aviv. An optional trip extension to Jordan is also available. See more information.

 

Learn to Read Hebrew for Adults
Ten online classes, $225

Register here

Learn to Read Hebrew for Adults is now enrolling! Familiarity with Hebrew can be a key to feeling at home in the Jewish community. Learn more about the upcoming cohorts which begin the week of January 22, 2023.

 

Create a Silk-Painted Tallit

Registration now closed. Please contact us to express interest in a future class.

Members, join Kelly Finkel to learn how to create your own silk painted tallit during this five-session workshop. You will go from design to finished project in time to wear your creation at Rosh Hashanah services. Class is limited to eight participants, age post-b'nai mitzvah to adult.

 

Adult B'nai Mitzvah Program
The Adult B'nai Mitzvah Program includes 15 months of study, Hebrew language learning, and the opportunity learn alongside fellow members, clergy, and Jewish educators. The first cohort of students concluded with the simcha of a shared b’nai mitzvah on March 19 and April 2, 2022.  Interested? Contact us for information about future opportunities.

 

 

 

Lunch and Schmooze for Congregants Living Alone

Led by Cantor Gostein 
Every other Thursday, 12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m.


Temple Beth Shalom members, please contact us to obtain the password to join this meeting.

Join by Zoom (video)
Join by phone (audio only): Call 346-248-7799 and enter meeting ID 722-036-738 when prompted.

 

Offerings from HUC

Explore the high-quality classes offered by HUC—the premier Jewish seminary in North America and the academic, spiritual, and professional leadership development center of Reform Judaism. Best of all, the classes are free to all temple members! 

 

Conversations on Judaism & Civil Society

Hebrew Union College presents conversations that bring social scientific rigor as well as a Jewish lens on pressing concerns of our civic life today, including race and identity, elections, prison reform, and religious voices on social justice issues. Explore the offerings.

 

"When Words Become..."
The Poetry of Haim O. Rechnitzer

With Rabbi Haim Rechnitzer, Ph.D., Professor of Modern Jewish Thought, HUC-JIR/Cincinnati

Thursday, January 19 at 12:30 pm ET / 9:30 am PT / 7:30 pm Israel

 

A New Look at an Old Book:
Rethinking the Purpose of Pirke Avot

Tsevat Memorial Lecture with Dr. David Aaron, Professor of
Hebrew Bible and History of Interpretation, HUC-JIR/Cincinnati

Wednesday, February 15 at 5:00 pm ET / 2:00 pm PT / 12:00 am Israel

A partnership of the Klau Library and the HUC-JIR Dean's Office with support
from the Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati.

 

The Samaritans: A Biblical People by Moshe Alafi

Film Screening in The Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati International Learning Center at the American Jewish Archives

Monday, March 13 at 5:00 pm ET (in-person only)

A partnership of the Klau Library, the American Jewish Archives, and Mayerson JCC,
in association with the Yeshiva University Center for Israel Studies.

 

Good Samaritans? Jewish-Samaritan Relations in the
Roman World

Feld Lecture and Reception with Steven Fine, Ph.D., Churgin Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Monday, March 13 at 7:00 pm ET / 4:00 pm PT / 2:00 am Israel

A partnership of the Klau Library and Mayerson JCC, in association with the
Yeshiva University Center for Israel Studies.

 

"He Showed Him the Likeness of the Tabernacle:"
The Biblical Tabernacle in Samaritan Literature and Art

Field Lunch and Learn with Steven Fine, Ph.D.,
Churgin Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Tuesday, March 14 at 12:00 pm ET / 9:00 am PT / 7:00 pm Israel

A partnership of the Klau Library and Mayerson JCC, in association with the
Yeshiva University Center for Israel Studies.

 

Tzafun: The Behind the Scenes Work of Repairing the
1526 Prague Haggadah

With Ashleigh N. Ferguson Schieszer, Conservationist,
University of Cincinnati

Monday, April 10 at 11:00 am ET / 8:00 am PT / 6:00 pm Israel

 

The Histories of the Hebrew Language and its Script

With Dr. Stephen Kaufman, Professor Emeritus of Bible and
Cognate Literature, HUC-JIR/Cincinnati

Wednesday, May 10 at 1:00 pm ET / 10:00 am PT / 8:00 pm Israel

REGISTER for all HUC classes by clicking here
Mon, January 30 2023 8 Sh'vat 5783